90s bands, nonsensical banter, and conversations with my sister turns deep and meaningful.

I thought I would flick out another post as I have found some spare time at my desk where I am on placement (which is a rare occurence!).

So I found out two nights ago that a whole bunch of girl bands from the 90’s are coming to New Zealand (unsure of when). I was so excited to hear this that I had to play all of their songs (Atomic Kitten, Sugababes, Bewitched).  I am yet to inform my sister of this concert but I’m sure she will be buzzing with excitement or shock (it could go either way because this time it is not the Spicegirls). In mine and my flatmates excitement, we began frantically searching spotify for our favourite nineties tunes, and to our luck and utter amazement we remembered all of the words to the majority of the songs we banged out on the speakers. It was in this moment that I realised how quickly time has flown since my sister and I danced around in our undies and Spicegirls T-shirts with hairbrushes in hand arguing over who would be Sporty Spice or Baby Spice or which Girl Band CD to crank up loud. It was as if my life flashed infront of my eyes which allowed me a moment of reflection of how precious each moment in life is. 

I spoke to my sister on the phone last night for the first time in over a month and already I’d forgotten how much I should cherish these moments. Even if they are far and in between, or full of nonsensical banter and the occasional debate, they are moments that are truly precious. 

So, how the hell did knowledge of 90s bands coming 

to New Zealand get so deep and meaningful? I do not know but these are thoughts I wish to share from my own learnings during the everyday 9 to 5 rush. 

I hope this finds you well. 

Love Liv (currently sitting under the stars). 

Leave a Reply

